Making a new PC z87 or x79?

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The forums have been archived. Please read this thread for more information.

• Making a new PC z87 or x79?

Hey everyone
      I'm new to this whole forum thing but I need to help and thought this would be a good place to ask for help. I'm looking to make a new pc that can handle everything a typical YouTuber has to throw at it. Seeing as I do gaming videos this means that its going to have to run high end games, run a screen recorder such as FRAPS, run as face cam, and maybe even render some videos all at once. I already know that i'm going for a I7 cpu however I can't make up my mind between x79 (ivy bridge) or z87 (haswell) motherboards. I want to make sure that I pick the right one so that when it comes time to up grade again I will only have to worry about my GPU and maybe my CPU. Also should I got with ASUS or EVGA? I hope you can help me out it would mean a lot!
      Join the Bongo Crew today by clicking > here <
    • x79 platform any day. Unless you really can't live with out haswell.. a x79 with a 3930x and then overclock that fucker with the H100i.

Build:
      CPU:Intel i7 3930x Extreme
      Mobo:Asus Rampage IV Extreme
      RAM:16-32GB DDR 3 1600-2133mhz
      GPU:Radeon 7950-7970 or Nvidia case GTX 770 or 780<-- Tho this card is a little pricey then the rest here.
      PSU:Around 750W or more from any branded powersupply's. (Corsairs,CM etc etc)

My advice is to never go for EVGA,if you are getting Nvida,go for ASUS,if you are going for AMD go for Sapphire or Asus.
      "Crush,kill,destroy. Burn it in the name of the emperor."-Space Marines.