Announcement Removal of dislikes

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The forums have been archived. Please read this thread for more information.

• People can still upvote their own stuff, but eventually something will be made to circumvent this.

Some ideas I had were:

1) Can't have someone from the same IP address, network, vote on your content. For example, my wife has an account here, the website could pinpoint our IPs and disallow her from liking my content. Right now there's nothing stopping her.

That would stop the multiple accounts (been awhile since I worked as an admin) from upvoting their own content and no one else's.
      Now that the dislike button has been removed, no one has to worry about a bunch of accounts all down voting everything.

2) Accounts made within a certain time frame can not immediately post/vote on other threads, but could post in their own threads.

3) Accounts over a certain timeframe old would need some sort of validation.. like steam for example.. but not limited to or they risk having their posts being restricted, or other restricted engagement.

Now all of this may seem unfair at first, but if someone wants to make an account legitimately, it shouldn't pose a problem. But for people to make alts for the sake of making alts.. it'll really be inconvenient.
    • datfeelsnice wrote:

You can still make multiple accounts and upvote your own post, no? There's no way around it unless he actually went through all the submissions regardless of score (Or got people to help sort out quality) but... That probably won't happen. Basically luck at this point, or if you want to cheat the system and make those accounts.

Tophat Guitarist wrote:

It's such a shame how the dislike button had to be remove. It's something that this site did well that facebook still failed at doing.