Trying to create more awareness of disability within the community/Potential Collab opportunity

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The forums have been archived. Please read this thread for more information.

• Trying to create more awareness of disability within the community/Potential Collab opportunity

Hello,
      My name’s JD Weaver and I am a 19 year olddisabled musician from Cheshire, United Kingdom.

I suffer from a condition calledDuchene Muscular Dystrophy, a muscle wasting condition that leads to eventualdegeneration of muscle tissue.
      This affects a lot ofmy day to day activities and already I’m wheelchair bound, with every dayfeeling more lethargic than the last, but it’s life I still live it as well asI can but it’s wrong for me to tell people everything’s fine, I want tomaintain an honest relationship with my possible audience and I feel if I’mhonest about my disability then that gives me an integrity, sort of a code ofhonor to live by.
      Unfortunately I amlabeled ‘disabled’ but as a human I will be defined and that’s one thing I tryto fight, for me the real difficulty still is realizing that no matter what Ido I can’t fix my health, every day is still a struggle but one which I fightfrequently.
      AfterI was diagnosed (end of 2005-2006) I had to find a way of expressing myself or Iwould have gone crazy. I decided to start writing music and I have been playingfor 12 years, but I have really been consistently writing for 5 years workingon small ideas I had noted down in my younger, more innocent years.
      Ihave always been surrounded by great music, fortunately. I was raised on bandslike the Scorpions, Def Leppard, Styx, Thin Lizzy and many more great stalwartsof the rock scene and if you’d ask me what I’d love to have done with my lifeat 6-8 it would have been to be singing on stage with Joe Elliot (lead singerof Def Lepp).