Parts for Gaming PC

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site, you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy.

The forums have been archived. Please read this thread for more information.

• HisHighnessBr00tal wrote:

Rule #1: No AMD Processor
    Rule #2: Amount of RAM above 8GB doesnt matter, its the speed.
    Rule #3: You dont need more than 1.5 GB RAM GFX Card if you just want to play games.
    Rule #4: With that amount of cash, do not cut down on cooling.

#1: cant say anything there, never had an AMD proc and prolly never will
    #2: im running 8gig ram and its barely enough for playing BF3 and recording at the same time (and yes i have plenty of shit in the background running but thats how i want it, with FF running im using 3.2 gig ram)
    #3: for BF3 you need a minimum of 1 gig gfx card, im running a 2 gig one and it is bottlenecking, slowing down my fps
    #4: extremely good point, cannot stress that enough! (i have since my first computer been running most things overclocked so cooling is a must if u dont want to ruin parts)
    (added rule)#5 get an SSD drive for your OS and main games, it REALLY improves loading and general speed of everything installed on it

And to OP, check my setup in my sig, is more than enough to run BF3 on high with good fps (70+) altho use the i5 2500K processor unless you render loads of videos and 3D stuff
    Fractal Design R3, Win7, I7 2600k @ 4,6GHz, Noctua NH-U12P, 16Gb vengeance LP,
    Nvidia GTX 780 , Asrock P67 pro3, Force GT SSD 120GB, BenQ 24" (LED) + Hyndai 22", Logitech G110, Qpad QH-90, Razer Deathadder 2013
  • SSD doesn't help on FPS though. Just use it for OS and rendering software. So prolly, 32-60GB is already enough.

Some games need 1.5GB of Graphics card because it renders a lot like Batman: Arkham City and BF3. Though it's not really on how big is the GB of your GFX, it's about the shaders, clocks, etc.

8GB is enough. Win7 uses 1.5GB, and some games uses 3GB I think.